Skip to content

(not really needed) Purchases

July 9, 2011

I went to the book store today. Looking for a book mark, as I am getting exhausted of using old shopping lists to hold my pages. I’ve not bought a book mark for years, so I figure I can manage to purchase one to fill the gap rather than try and find another.

But I didn’t like any of the ones that were there – far too impersonal, really. So I think I am going to go back to the old standard of using photographs of mine.

This failure did not stop me from buying though. Not at a book store – of course.

 

Each of the books are a part of my reading challenges for this coming year (check out my To-Read and Reading Challenges page).

Tea Obrecht’s The Tiger’s Wife is a part of my general reading challenge for myself – in which I am trying to read more contemporary literature and trying to read more books written by women. Earlier this year, this novel surprised most everybody by beating out Emma Donoghue’s Room for the Orange Prize. It caused a little bit of a controversy – people seem to be a little bit torn on the actual literary quality of the book, even if they all seem to agree that Obrecht is a stunning author who performed phenomenally in her debut. Needless to say I have been meaning to give the book a read.

Hunger by Knut Hamsun was recommended to me by some family I have in Norway several years ago (I bought a copy for my brother, and he lost it); it is apparently fantastic, and is largely credited with spawning modern psychological literature. I’m quite excited to give it a read. I do expect to enjoy it – and provided that I don’t, I can always blame my family in Norway. All that said, what I have read from Norway (not much) has really impressed me, and if this book manages to remind me in any way of my time spent there two years ago, I am certain it will be one of my favourites.

Finally, Haruki Murakami’s Kafka on the Shore is a mystery to me. I don’t know anybody who has read it, or anything by Murakami for that matter; regardless, he seems to be highly regarded. I think I will enjoy jumping into something when I have no idea what to expect of it. Apparently it fits into the ambiguous genre of magical realism, a genre I am only just now sinking my teeth into and loving what I am biting off. Looking forward to this book as well (and I hope to enjoy it, as I am currently planning on reading Murakami’s 1Q84 when it is released later this year.)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

