Skip to content

On finishing a good book

August 16, 2011
tags:

Last night I stayed awake and powered through to the end of Midnight’s Children. I was about to set it aside with twenty pages left, but the ending of the second-last chapter is so intriguing that it is impossible to imagine putting it down at the end of it.

Intrigue is perhaps one of the best ways to describe my relationship with this book over the past two weeks. Total and complete intrigue. Oftentimes I wanted to come here and write about my reading experience, or to share a passage or a quote that I found particularly fascinating, but it was not long before I realized two things: first of all, if I were to have done this with every part of the book that I adored, I would not have possibly had enough space on the internet. Secondly,  it would have taken away time from my reading of the book that I was so thoroughly fascinated by. Intrigued.

I have so much to say about Midnight’s Children. Honestly, I cannot imagine being a reviewer of literature in the early 1980s and having finished this novel – there is so very much to discuss. It is so very, very dense with information to process and process and process again. How do you do that with a 500-word limit? I don’t know. I’m certainly not imposing one to try and find out.

I’ll have my review up in about a week. My review of The Apprenticeship of Duddy Kravitz will be up tomorrow. And then I will be caught up, and reading Ghost Road by Pat Barker to finish off this trilogy (which I have enjoyed so much as to want to start reading more trilogies…).

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

