Skip to content

Many Books on the Booker List

September 7, 2011

I have to be honest. I’ve not yet read anything on the Man Booker Prize longlist. I own two or three of the novels that made it that far, and, as explored when the longlist was announced, I was interested in quite a few more. But I’ve not yet done anything with that. I’ve been distracted by other things I suppose – other books, other parts of life, moving across my country. Those kind of things.

That does not change the fact that I should be reading some of these books so that I can actually partake in the general literary discussion that is taking place right now with the release, yesterday morning, of the Man Booker Shortlist:

  • The Sense of an Ending by Julian Barnes
  • Jamrach’s Menagerie by Carol Birch
  • The Sisters Brothers by Patrick deWitt
  • Half Blood Blues by Esi Edugyan
  • Pigeon English by Stephen Kelman
  • Snowdrops by A.D. Miller

I’m actually quite excited about the top half of the list, and less interested in the bottom half. I’m still wanting to read The Last Hundred Days by Patrick McGuinness above pretty much all of the other ones, but it still has not been released here in Canada. I have not even heard about it having a release date. But the premise sounds so interesting – I really would like to read it.

Half Blood Blues is probably riveting. I’ve heard good things about Pigeon English (and the cover is so very, very sexy), and Snowdrops is so very far out of my traditional genre that I may just have to give it a chance. But the top three – Jamrach’s Menagerie, The Sisters Brothers, and The Sense of an Ending are totally topping the bottom three in terms of personal interest, with The Sisters Brothers probably topping the list for me. I’m hoping to finish up Hunger by Knut Hamsun this week so that I can start that book up sooner rather than later.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 5, 2013 2:12 am

    This particular posting, “Many Books on the Booker List litereader” was in fact outstanding.
    I’m making out a copy to demonstrate to my pals.
    Thanks for your time,Lawrence

Leave a Reply

